​I dumped many useless things in my backyard,

Now it is full, stinking and rotten.

Doors are closed and locked for ages,

But foul smell is escaping through creeks and edges.


It reminds me how much I owe.

Unreasonable, useless and miserable things. 

Things which have ruined me, tortured me.

Things which have shackled me to my past.


“Get rid of them as soon as you can” 

“Throw them, burn them, dispose them” 

“Do whatever you can, as soon as you can”


I know what has to be done, how it has to be done. 

I know all, because I learned all. 

Every knowledge, every path was available for me.

Every answer was within reach of my will


But still my backyard is full and so my mind.

My past is relishing on my present.

My heart is heavy with pain,

and for love, no space is left within me.

Copyright ©Vishal Raut

Image : Google 

